Skip to content

Mozzarella-Stuffed Pancakes with Teriyaki Pears

July 18, 2011
tags:

AUGUST 2010 — I think this was when I started to play a mini-version of “Chopped” with my good friend, Shilpa. If we don’t know what we feel like eating, we’ll assign each other 4 random ingredients (that are ideally difficult to pair), and each make a dish out of that. For this breakfast, she gave me mozzarella, eggs, pears, and soy sauce.

Doesn't that side just look good and dough-y?

Albeit, I don’t think that mozzarella-stuffed pancakes and teriyaki-glazed pears taste great together, but by themselves, I thought were pretty good results.

So what did you do?
For the pears, I chopped them into thin slices and started them cooking in a pan with just a little bit of butter. I thought the only un-bizarre thing I could do with the soy sauce is make teriyaki sauce by adding brown sugar to it. (I had to taste as I added. I don’t know how much sugar exactly is good. Since pears are a pretty sweet-tasting fruit, I liked keeping some of the salty tang of the soy sauce.) I threw the teriyaki sauce into the pan with the pears and let the sauce soak into the flesh for a bit, and then set them aside and put them in the fridge to chill until all the pancakes were done.

Oh good morning.

I used the eggs to make pancake batter. (Pancakes are my favorite thing to make. You can get so creative with them.) As I spooned some into a frying pan, I threw in a bunch of shredded mozzarella. And then I dropped another spoonful of batter on top of the cheese. (It’s good to work fast.)

I topped the filled pancakes with the pears and some honey-roasted peanuts.

Lessons learned?
I discovered how amazing cheese-filled pancakes are. And though I’m a pretty healthy cook, you really can’t be afraid of adding a lot of cheese if you want to a layer thick enough to sink your teeth into.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

