Skip to content

Pumpkin Bread Pudding

July 20, 2011

DECEMBER 27th — What compelled me to make this was in fact the bread pudding at the UCLA dining halls. That deep-dish dessert is probably my favorite thing there, including all entrees. Pumpkin, I suppose, was just a seasonal addition.

So what did you do?
1. I had to look up a recipe for this, so do that.
I used about half a loaf of old whole-wheat raisin bread just starting to get stale. I chopped those up into cubes, roughly, and scattered them across a casserole dish sprayed with PAM. For the wet mixture, just mix a can of pure pumpkin (like Libby’s), egg, milk, sugar, and spices. Then pour evenly across the bread and let it settle and get absorbed by the bread for a bit.
For an extra personal touch, (I always like doing this to muffins and scones too,) I chopped up some apple slices, folded them in brown sugar and cinnamon, and placed them on top, uncooked.
Then I put the whole thing in the oven.

Lessons learned?
I totally forgot about adding sugar, actually, which was not to my benefit. The pudding was heavily seasoned, so I guess it turned out all right in the flavor department, but yeah, I forgot about that.

Also, I’m not sure why the recipe told me to put the dry bread in and then pour the pudding batter on top. The bread at the bottom didn’t soak up all the mixture, and there was just some pure pudding at the top of the casserole dish. I think if you want a very consistent bread pudding, gently, not forcefully at all, fold in the bread cubes into the wet mixture just a little so that every surface is coated, and then pour the whole thing. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with having some bread-ier and pudding-ier layers of your bread pudding.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

