Skip to content

Chipotle Ground Turkey Hash

July 24, 2011

JULY 2011 — One of the first things I made during this summer in the apartment I’m subletting. Because I don’t have access to a family-sized pantry now, I’m a bit limited with how much I can buy for me and my roommate, Jane. However, I’m lucky to have generous apartment mates who have stocked their pantries with a lot of new and interesting stuff that they’ll let me use, like Chipotle Tabasco sauce. Originally, I thought I had gotten a glimpse at some ground paprika (which I’ve grown to love, after my travels in South America,) in the pantry, but when I couldn’t find it again, I decided to use that instead, and it worked out great.

So what did you do?
Cube potatoes (I used Yukon gold), dice some onions and a roma tomato, and chop some spinach.
Brown ground turkey first (because it’s raw meat). And then, you should probably add the rest of the stuff one by one, in the order of what cooks the slowest to the fastest. So that means onions, potatoes, tomato, then spinach.
Heavily seasoning the whole thing with salt, pepper, (I probably put a little bit of oregano,) and many drops of Chipotle Tabasco sauce was essential. Also, 1 or 2 more sprays of PAM are always good for ensuring you cook the potatoes all the way through without burning them.

Lessons learned?
Chipotle Tabasco sauce, rather than providing just immediate, tangy heat, gives a deeper, darker, smokier flavor, a subtler heat that emerges from beneath the surface of the food.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

