Skip to content

Pear & Goat Cheese Crostini

August 1, 2011

JULY 21st, 2011 — For the past week I had had some pretty measly lunches consisting of bits of frozen food and snack food, and I decided that I really needed a good-quality dinner, significant, but still light and refreshing. The first part of this Frenchy meal would be an hors d’oeuvre.

I purchased this fantastic goat cheese at the Eat Real Fest in Culver City. They had a wide variety of flavors. And I know the  cheese was real because it’s too soft to be crumbled and put into a Trader Joe’s tub or Kraft Ziploc baggie, but it’s also not smooth enough (like cream cheese or the Laughing Cow) to be easily spread.

So what did you do?
I had some slices of a La Brea whole-grain loaf, atop which I spread some of the fancy goat cheese (“fromage de chevre”), with Provencal herbs mixed into the cheese.
I then sliced up some d’Anjou pears to lay on top, and then I drizzled some balsamic vinaigrette for some dark tanginess. I was originally intending to lightly sautee the pear in the balsamic so that it would soften up, but grew too tired from making my Salade Nicoise. I enjoyed my crisp pear and strong balsamic flavor separate all the same, but softening the pears would have been a nice warm touch.

Lessons learned?
This is what real goat cheese tastes like, texturally. It might just be my new favorite cheese. It’d be great to cook with, even in baked goods! Next time.

Leave a Reply

