Skip to content

Gingerbread Cupcakes Topped with Apple-Cinnamon Cheesecake

August 17, 2011

AUGUST 16th, 2011 — I never thought I’d hop on the cupcake bandwagon. (A plain yellow stump with swirling frosting would never get an A for participation in my book.) But I did, with these cupcakes, with lots of spices and fillings. I’ve only seen cheesecake-filled cupcakes (commercially sold) at Crumbs Bake Shop. It was the most texturally exciting cupcake I had ever experienced. (And I did not eat the whole thing.)

So what did you do?
I did find this recipe here online, which was helpful in understanding the process of cheesecake-filled cupcakes, and then I found this recipe from Eatingwell.com for gingerbread.

First, I diced a large fuji apple into little cubes, tossed them with 1-2 spoonfuls of dark brown sugar, 1-2 dashes of cinnamon, and stewed them in a pot on the stove. If you use enough (or too much) sugar, a syrup should be bubbling at the bottom. Then, when the apples were soft and ready, I stored the mixture in the refrigerator to cool down.

For the gingerbread cupcake batter, I altered the Eatingwell.com recipe a bit, swapping 2 egg whites for 1 whole egg, and 1/4 molasses (didn’t have it) with milk. I also included more ginger than nutmeg.
For the cheesecake batter, I used 8 ounces (so a whole tub) of light whipped cream cheese, an egg, a dash each of ground cinnamon and ground ginger, and 1/3 cup sugar. Because the batter was surprisingly really thin, I decided not to fold in the apples in fear of their watery syrup, and I added in about 1/3 cup (whole-wheat) flour.
I topped the cupcakes with the apples, and put them into a 370 degree oven for 30-35 minutes.

Lessons learned?
Health-conscious tendencies dictated that I get light whipped cream cheese instead of a dense block of full-fat cream cheese. I think whipped cream cheese produces a thinner batter, making it more likely to dissolve.
Maybe I should have used swapped 1/4 cup of additional milk for 1/4 cup maple syrup, for a sweeter, moister cake.
I also probably put way too much cheesecake on top, because supposedly, the cake is supposed to rise around the cheesecake, thus turning it into a filling. But this “top-layer” result probably is still due to that my cheesecake batter wasn’t dense enough.

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 31, 2011 5:48 AM

    It’s funny how things looks one way but taste another. Most of the things I’ve been making lately look fantastic but taste bland or downright gross.
    This, however, probably still tasted good, even though the cheesecake batter wasn’t dense enough.

Leave a Reply

