Skip to content

Pumpkin & Cinnamon Cheesecake Layer Pie

November 26, 2011

NOVERMBER 24th, 2011 — I absolutely love pumpkin pie, but I am all about invention–hence, putting two desserts in the same pan! So glad I took photos of it yesterday, because it’s pretty much gone now.

So what did you do?
I looked up recipes for pumpkin pie and cheesecake separately from EatingWell.com. I noted that since cheesecake must bake for longer, and at a lower temperature, the original plan–to swirl in the cheesecake filling in an attractive marbled pattern–wasn’t gonna fly. This is especially true since the batters were pretty wet, and I didn’t want them to mix and congeal together.

The cheesecake batter was:
8 oz. light cream cheese
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
2 large whole eggs
Mix all the ingredients together and beat in the eggs one at a time with an egg beater on low speed.
As you might guess, it’s a heavily spiced cheesecake batter, so the color is a nice light cafe latte brown.

Then, I spread out the whole sheet of [Reduced Fat] Pillsbury Crescent Dough (I use this stuff too much) in a greased glass, ovular casserole dish. Then I poured in the cheesecake batter and baked at 325 degrees.
Cheesecake is supposed to cook for 50 minutes, and pumpkin pie is supposed to bake for 30, so I thought I’d make the pumpkin pie batter while the cheesecake bakes and solidifies enough to hold raw batter.

The pumpkin pie batter was:
15 oz. canned pumpkin
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup brown sugar
1 cup milk
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
3 eggs

Before layering the pumpkin pie batter on, however, there was a layer of toasted walnuts, crushed in a mixture of a spoonful of honey and a tablespoon of butter, that I sprinkled atop the cinnamon cheesecake. Then I poured on the pumpkin pie batter and baked for about an extra hour at 360 degrees. I was really frustrated that it was taking so long to solidify, because I consciously omitted 1 egg from the recipe with the intention of decreasing fat and cholesterol, but that omission was probably why it took forever to bake.

Don’t forget the dollop of Cool Whip.

The result was absolutely delicious though. A deep, dark, spiced, silky layer of pumpkin pie, a creamy, salty-sweet, thick cheesecake filling that tasted like snickerdoodles, with the crunch of walnuts and then some light pasty crust. Yes.

Lessons learned?
Eggs. Super important for the cooking process.
If I had a really strong sweet tooth, I would have added more sugar to the pumpkin pie, and I probably would have rolled the walnuts in some more brown sugar.

Leave a Reply

