Skip to content

Earl Grey Scones Filled with Apricot Jam

December 29, 2011

DECEMBER 24th, 2011 — My mom insisted that I bake something to give to her friends. I’ve always been a huge fan of green tea and chai tea as flavors for things, and I’ve found that Earl Grey is a tea that also has a very distinctive taste, one I like a lot, and has not [yet] become fad-material. This morning I had my friend Pooja come over and help me out.

One of our neighbors is particularly crafty with Russian teacakes and homemade jams that she gives to us annually. This year we received jars of plum jam and apricot jam, and so I decided to fill the scones with them.

Dammit, when will I learn that torn, not cut, baked goods make for better food photography?

So what did you do?
I followed a Harrods’ scone recipe, with some alterations.

Instead of adding just milk, I strongly brewed 1/3 cup of Tetley’s Earl Grey tea, and added 1 cup of milk. (Don’t forget to give the tea some time to cool. You want your scone dough to be as cold as possible for easy handling later.) I added a teaspoon of cinnamon into the milk tea.

Batter:
-4 cups flour
-8 tablespoons sugar
-dash(es) of salt
-1 teaspoon cinnamon
-8 tablespoons cold cubed butter
-1 1/3 cup earl grey milk tea
-2-3 tablespoons (or 3 bags’ worth) earl grey tea leaves
-1/2 cup golden raisins

Add the cold cubed butter to the dry ingredients. I used a pastry blender. It’s great. It’s the fanciest “white” gadget I have.
Then, add the the milk slowly and knead the dough gently. Don’t worry if the dough seems kinda dry and too crumbly. Don’t add more liquid; the dough will come together as you work it.

On a floured surface, roll out the dough into a rectangle about 1/3 inch thick. We cut the dough into little 2″ x 2″ squares. A pizza dough cutter would have been great. There’s a “white” gadget I don’t have. Then, spoon just a little jam in the center of half of the squares. Using the dough squares that don’t have jam on them, make little sandwiches. You don’t need to press down the edges that firmly, or at all. This makes it easy to split fresh-baked scones in half, and also allows the jam to ooze out a bit and say hello.
Bake for 15-20 minutes at 400 degrees.

I really enjoyed these a lot. The jam was great, especially with a recipe not too sweet at all. Did I taste the earl grey tea? Not so blatantly, but the creamy butteriness that one usually associates with biscuits and plain scones is subtly replaced by a deep, aromatic taste that lingers in the back more than it sticks its head through the front door. Good scone though.

Lessons learned?
However, I love the taste of earl grey. I would have like to brew the hell out of that 1 tea bag, and increase the tea-milk ratio. I think this would help more than adding more tea leaves would. According to Martha Stewart, a little orange zest might be a good idea to complement and enhance the bergamot essence in earl grey tea. Perhaps.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2013 3:10 PM

    This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your great post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

