Skip to content

Pumpkin-Cheese Quesadillas

November 6, 2012

NOVEMBER 6th, 2012 — I had seen this recipe for “Pumpkin Grilled Cheese” on Hungry Girl, and I’m not sure why I was compelled to try it. I think it’s probably the most original idea they have had. Today was a celebratory meeting for the board of the FPS Productions, because we had just finished production of 4 amazing short films, all produced within a week, for Campus MovieFest. Our pres. Monica brought drinks, our photo director Margaux brought a bag o’ Diddy Riese, and I decided to make some sort of appetizer / hors d’oeuvres with ingredients that already existed in my kitchen. So this was incredibly convenient. And fall-themed.

So what did you do?
This is a strange recipe—even for me. So I followed it pretty closely as far as the pumpkin mixture goes.

I mixed in a bowl:
-1/2 cup of canned pumpkin
-2 wedges of the The Laughing Cow light Swiss cheese wedges
-black pepper
-chili powder

Our finance director Jeff helped out by dicing half an onion and sauteeing it with some brown sugar.

To layer, I spread half the pumpkin-cheese mixture onto a mini-whole-wheat tortilla, spread half of the onion mixture, and sprinkled some shredded light mozarella cheese, and then another tortilla on top, and grilled it in a skillet until crispy brown on the outside.

Result? Pretty interesting. Makes for a good cheesy, wholesome, and hearty appetizer.
I think I would prefer this in a quesadilla than on “light” bread.

Lessons learned?
Pumpkin’s a solid savory ingredient. I wish I had pumped it up with more salt, black pepper, and chili powder.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

