Skip to content

Holiday Candy Cookies

December 24, 2012

Holiday Candy Cookies (2)DECEMBER 23rd — This food blog is no secret from my parents, who have then expected me to drop everything and cook in their [spice-less] kitchen when I come home. These expectations extend to baking things for our family friends, which is not a Herculean labor, but my parents lack butter, flour, sugar, and all other baking essentials, and I also want to minimize our grocery shopping list, so I have to learn to get the most mileage out of what is already existing in our kitchen.

Thus, I was almost tempted to call these “dump cookies,” because I mixed in all the candy that my family does not eat. (We don’t really eat the chocolates and candies we get from gift boxes and those bags of Ghiradelli squares.)

So what did you do?
Since I have a very bare pantry at home, the most basic recipe I know of is shortbread, which requires no baking powder or baking soda.

First, cream 14 tbsp of butter with 2/3 cup sugar. I used a mixture of white sugar and dark brown sugar.

Fold in 2 cups all-purpose flour.

For mix-ins, I had about 3/4 cup of candy cane pieces, Ghiradelli dark chocolate squares with caramel, Ghiradelli peppermint bark, and slivered almonds that I placed in a ziploc bag and pounded with a large rolling pin. Fold that into your mixture.

Holiday Candy Cookies (1)Bake cookies at 350 degrees for 18-20 minutes.

Result? I think these will be enjoyable. Nothing tastes like the holidays like the refreshing warmth of peppermint to accommodate warm dark chocolate in a deep, chew cookie.

Lessons learned?
The recipe I found called for 2 sticks of butter ( = 1 cup = 16 tbsp ). Again, I always use slightly less, and it turned out just fine!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

