Skip to content

Pork Chops with Apple Chutney

December 26, 2012

Pork Chop w Apple ChutneyDECEMBER 24th, 2012 — For the entree of our Christmas dinner I decided to have some real meat, but it would have to be dressed in some way or another. I chose to do an apple chutney, selecting an in-season fruit.

So what did you do?
I first brined the pork chops the night before.
(Arguably, what distinguishes a brine from a marinade is an absence of acidity in the former.)The brine consisted of:
-2 cups water
-1/3 cup brown sugar
-1 tbsp maple syrup
-1/4 cup salt
-1 minced clove garlic
-dashes of dried dill

I placed 6 medium-sized pork chops in a bag of these in the fridge overnight. A brine will tenderize the meat in addition to imbuing it with flavor.

The next evening, for the chutney, I sauteed half of a julienne-sliced onion in:
-1 tbsp olive oil
-1/3 cup brown sugar
-1/4 cup red wine vinegar
-1 clove minced garlic
-2 tsp minced fresh ginger (<–yes, the one spice/seasoning my family does keep around!)

After the onions have sufficiently browned, I added in 2 large gala apples that I had chopped into little cubes.
After bringing it to a boil, I turned the heat down, added 1/4 tsp salt and some pepper, and let it simmer for about 20 minutes on low heat, covered.

I then removed the pork chops from the bag, placed them on a cutting board, and patted them dry. The less thoroughly you soak up the extra brine, the darker and moister your chop will be. Discard the rest of the brine.

I grilled the pork chops on high heat for approximately 5 minutes per side. Here I made the fatal error of neglecting to season the pork chops with liberal dashes of salt and pepper. (Thank goodness for the chutney.)

Pork Chops with Apple ChutneyTo plate, place the pork chops in a deep dish and dollop the chutney on top. Pour the chutney’s excess juices into the dish and let the chops swim in it. Add some dill on top as well for that fresh, fragrant addition.

Lessons learned?
I guess I need to be more in the habit of cooking meat, but with an extra oil, salt, and pepper, the chops could have been really phenomenal. However, the apple chutney really saved the day, with a sweet-savory and deep flavor that you get from simmering it slowly.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 26, 2012 6:59 AM

    I’ve never tried adding dill to a pork brine, but it sounds really interesting … I’m anxious to give it a try! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

