Skip to content

Fried Bananas

January 28, 2013

Fried Bananas BeV JANUARY 27th, 2013 — What do I do with old, brown, spotty bananas? (Overripe bananas are the one thing I will not stand for.) I’m a bit over banana bread & banana pancakes & banana muffins, and didn’t quite frankly have the patience. So I decided to fry those damn things and make dessert for my apartment on this fine evening.

Fried bananas aren’t a completely original dessert. Sometimes you can find them in Southeast Asian cuisine—whole bananas deep-fried with a crispy coating. So I wanted to do something along those lines, but with a simple coating that wouldn’t rely on such intense frying.

So what did you do?
For the batter, I decided to make a pancake batter. Pancake and crepe batter is the one thing I eyeball, so unfortunately I can’t give you precise measurements, but for the dry ingredients, it was probably something like:
-1 cup all-purpose flour
-1/2 cup granulated sugar
-1 tsp ground cinnamon
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-1/4 tsp vanilla extract
-1/2 tsp table salt

Then, I poured in some milk until it got to a semi-smooth consistency, and then cracked in one egg.

I sliced 3 long bananas in half lengthwise, and then sliced those halves in half again.

Coat the bottom of a tall frying pan with vegetable oil or canola oil.
Do not use olive oil, since it burns more easily… or something like that. I learned that from somewhere. It has to do with the boiling point. Look it up, kids.

With tongs, I dipped the bananas into the cinnamon-pancake batter and fried them for about a minute on both sides. Then I let them drain on a plate with paper towels.

Fried Bananas Open (2)Served with fresh sliced strawberries and powdered sugar.

Great way to bring out the tang that I like in underripe bananas. It was really great. Really really great. Also, the pan-frying was absolutely necessary in achieving a crispy and chewy crepe exterior.

Lessons learned?
Great and quick use for overripe bananas.

I also wish I had made the batter thicker so it wouldn’t drip off the sides of the banana so easily. That perhaps could have been helped if I dredged the banana pieces in flour first, so the wet batter would stick to it. But then again I don’t fry things that often. I also could have probably used a dash more salt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

