Skip to content

Baked Cod with Pea Puree and Grape Relish

February 3, 2013

FEBRUARY 1st, 2013 — I hosted dinner for friends again, and went the fishy route. I knew that in order to jazz it up I would have to pair the dish with some interesting condiments. We had this discussion at the table about me artificially “classing” it up by adding the tags of “puree” and “relish” to describe the dish. Well you know what? I think I just DID that.

The inspiration for this was actually from the Komodo Food Truck, which serves a fish taco with grapes. And my healthy mind made me put something green on it–or under it.

So what did you do?
First, I had 4 cod fillets that I rinsed and patted dry. I lay them in a baking dish (sprayed with PAM), and on top I drizzled a mixture of:
-2 tablespoons melted butter
-2 tablespoons lime juice
-minced garlic
-salt
-pepper
I baked the fillets for 20 minutes at 425 degrees. When the fish are out, sprinkle with some extra garlic salt and pepper.

Cod, Grape Relish, Pea Puree (1)For the grape relish, I had about 2.5 cups of red seedless grapes. Had I had the time and patience, I would have sliced these into halves… but I didn’t. I dressed these with:
-1/2 tbsp olive oil
-2 tbsp white vinegar
-1 tbsp honey
-salt
-pepper
-lots and lots of dill

For the pea puree, I roughly followed a recipe from Aarti Sequeira, which involves putting:
-1 32 oz. package frozen peas
-1 cup nonfat Greek yogurt
-1/4 cup lemon juice
-1 tbsp granulated sugar
-salt
-pepper
all into a blender and blend on high.

Lessons learned?
I wanted to keep the fish warm before the guests arrived, so I kept the fillets in the oven while my flatmate Mallin was baking buttermilk biscuits. Yeah that was a bad idea, because the fillets came out a bit overcooked. Now I know.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

