Skip to content

Cosmopolitan Jelly Shooters

February 26, 2013
Cosmopolitan Jelly Shots

Photography credit to Zoe Sandoval

FEBRUARY 24th, 2013 — My film school class threw a classy party for our classmate’s birthday and for the Oscars. So I decided to make fancy jell-o shots. They were a big hit, and probably really dangerous as a result. 😉

So what did you do?
So, in fact, I can’t really take much credit for this one. I found this amazing blog, the Jelly Shot Test Kitchen, which does some amazing things, so I used 2 of her ideas. I did want to minimize my shopping list, however, so I altered the recipe a little bit. Here’s what I used:

  • 2 cups cranberry juice
  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 3 envelopes unflavored Knox gelatin
  • 3/4 cup vodka
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/4 cup triple sec orange liqueur

I dissolved the gelatin in the cranberry juice and lemon juice over a saucepan over low heat. After stirring for 5 or so minutes, after everything has been fully dissolved, I added the rest of the ingredients.

I was sure to watch the episode of Good Eats about gelatin before I started, and you’ll need 2 tsp (1 envelope) of gelatin for every cup of liquid you need, so I was sure to use 3 whole envelopes.

I poured the whole mixture into a glass casserole dish.

Jelly Shooters (1)

Photography credit to Zoe Sandoval

I was SO glad that these came out firm, and they were super easy to serve. I just sliced them out with a knife into cubes and plated them as such.

Lessons learned?
Really not as hard as I thought they’d be! I’ll definitely experiment with some more of these.

Leave a Reply

