Skip to content

Yogurt-marinated Chicken with Onion-Fig Jam

March 24, 2013

Yogurt-marinated Chicken (1)MARCH 22nd, 2013 — So I’ve heard about marinating meat in yogurt as a low-fat way to give it moisture. And okay, I got help from Whole Foods for this one in terms of the recipe. Made for a classy-looking [chicken] entree though for dinner party of TWELVE. So if you’re following this recipe and only want to make it for 4-6 people, divide the recipe accordingly.

So what did you do?
I had to go to the grocery store in the morning because the chicken is supposed to soak in the marinade for 8-10 hours, or overnight (preferably).

The marinade is the following ingredients mixed in a LARGE bowl:
-2 cups non-fat plain yogurt
-4 tbsp lemon juice
-6 cloves finely chopped garlic
-2 tsp ground ginger
-4 tsp ground cumin
-2 tsp curry powder
-1 tsp salt
-1/2 tsp ground black pepper

I tossed about 3 lbs. chicken breast tenders & thighs in the marinade, making sure all the sides of the meat were coated thoroughly.

When done marinating, I simply lined 2 baking sheets with foil, removed the meat, shook off the excess marinade (it’s okay to have a nice coat on there for extra flavor) and baked the meat at 400 degrees for 40 minutes.

For the onion-fig jam, I finely chopped one large sweet onion, and sauteed it in olive oil for ~10 minutes until it’s about to start caramelizing.
I added 1-2 tbsp of brown sugar to that mixture.
When the onions were thin and translucent, I added in 4 tablespoons fig butter that I got from Trader Joe’s. Add in some more salt and pepper, to taste. This is such a simple topper for the chicken, but it was the real star of the whole meal, in almost everyone’s opinion. It was amazing. It hit that cozy midpoint between sweet and savory.

Yogurt-marinated Spiced Chicken (2)All served over a buttered bulghur pilaf, topped with some dill. I think if I had more time and energy, some crushed almonds would have made a great touch.

The seasoning was great for the chicken, and I’d do this again if…

Lessons learned?
…if again I learned how to cook meat for large groups of people at the right temperature. I overcooked the meat because I was worried about a plate getting cold so I put it back in the oven, which probably dried out the meat quite a bit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

