Skip to content

Ginger-Pear Sticky Buns

July 5, 2013

JULY 3rd, 2013 — The dessert for the 4th dinner club, not exactly “Asian” in result, though ginger and pear are definitely ingredients you’d find in Chinese cuisine. I wanted to do a spin on sticky buns, and take it beyond cinnamon rolls, or cinnamon rolls with some toasted pecans on top.

So what did you do?
First, I prepared the filling:
-1 finely chopped bartlett pear
-1.5 tbsp unsalted butter
-2 tbsp dark brown sugar
-1 tbsp ground ginger
-1 tsp ground cinnamon
-1 tsp nutmeg

All of that goes into a small saucepan to cook and simmer for about 12-15 minutes. The pear juices will come out, mix with the sugar and spices to make a syrup of sorts, which should finally be reabsorbed into the pears. Then remove from heat and leave to cool down.

Ginger-Pear Sticky BunI had a box of Swedish roll mix, and followed the directions to make the yeasty dough. I used 2/3 of it for my pork buns, and the last 1/3 I rolled out and flattened on a greased and floured baking tray into the shape of a rectangle.

I spread the ginger-pear mixture onto the dough as evenly and flatly as possible, leaving 1/2 inch margins lengthwise. I then carefully rolled up the rectangle lengthwise so it was one long roulade.

If I wasn’t already making 2 other dishes, I would have slice the roulade and maybe drizzled more melted butter and sugar on top, but instead I made the ends of the roll meet, turning it into one big pastry ring, and baked it at 480 degrees for 12 minutes.

When I served it, I found that the bread was a bit bland, and spread some cream cheese frosting on top. That was great.

Lessons learned?
More of that butter-sugar mixture glazed on top would have been wise. I also wish I had gone to the effort of chopping up some ginger candies and folding those into the mixture as well to give the otherwise mild ginger flavor more punch.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

