Skip to content

Brown Sugar Shortbread with Balsamic-Fig Glaze

August 9, 2013

AUGUST 8th, 2013 — It’s the first of the last days of the Lin Pictures interns, so I finally brought something in to work as a send-off.

So what did you do?
The batter consisted of the following:

  • 1 cup (1 stick) butter
  • 3/4 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Cream the butter and sugar first, and then slowly add in the flour. Then add the rest of the ingredients in and knead into a dough.

At the same time, I prepared the balsamic-fig sauce, with:

  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tbsp (Trader Joe’s) fig butter
  • 3 tbsp dark brown sugar

I brought the mixture to a boil and then down to a simmer for 7-ish minutes. If I had more vinegar and more sugar I would reduced it down more and made it more syrupy.

Spread the dough onto a greased tray in a slab about 1/4 inch thick, and drizzle the balsamic-fig glaze on top.
Bake for 30 minutes at 325 degrees.

Brown Sugar Shortbread w: Balsamic-Fig Glaze (1)The result? The deep, molasses flavor of the (not-too-sweet) cookies goes great with the tangy glaze. I would totally make these again.

Lessons learned?
Before baking, my dough was a bit too dry and crumbly so I added in a few splashes of milk to moisten it. This makes it more cake-y, while adding more butter would make it more dense and crunchy like a cookie. And while I would have preferred a cookie texture to a cake texture, 1 stick is kind of my moral limit on butter for a batch of cookies.

Also I would have liked to add more fig butter. If I had had dried fig pieces, I would have loved to chop those up and fold them into the batter, but the cookies are simply good anyway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

