Skip to content

Broccolini with Feta & Roasted Apples

September 11, 2013

Baby Broccoli w: Feta (2)SEPTEMBER 10th, 2013 — I think being able to cook vegetables with the care and thought of adding complimentary ingredients and flavors is probably one of the best things you can do if you’re looking to maintain a healthy lifestyle. If you give close care to really emphasizing your produce, then you’ll be completely happy just eating these flavorful veggies for dinner, and you won’t even miss your meat or carbs.

So what did you do?
I first prepared the apples, since they take longer to cook. I sliced 1 large pink lady apple into thin slices.
(Choosing a particularly tart apple like a pink lady or a granny smith I think will give your dish a brighter and more complex flavor.)
Then in a lightly oiled pan I sauteed the slices with a dash of salt and a drizzle of honey. I let it simmer on low heat for 5-7 minutes, or until the apples looked soft.

Then I added some roughly chopped broccolini to the pan, as well as just a bit more olive oil.
To that, I seasoned the mixture with salt, pepper, drizzles of honey, and a splash or two of apple cider vinegar to taste.

Baby Broccoli w: Feta (4)I then topped it off by crumbling some of this block of feta cheese I got at the Brentwood farmers’ market that had Tunisian spices encrusted into it (so presumably dried thyme and some other herbs).

Really, really delicious. Totally seemed like a hearty meal. And it was thoroughly enjoyed with champagne.

Lessons learned?
An extra drizzle of honey was helpful at the very end to top it off, since I didn’t sautee the broccolini for too long. I wanted the veggies still to be somewhat firm and crunchy, but slightly undercooked broccolini can have a bitter after-taste.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

