Skip to content

Butternut Squash & Goat Cheese Biscuits

November 29, 2013

Butternut Squash & Goat Cheese Biscuits (2)NOVEMBER 28th, 2013 — The one thing our family’s Thanksgiving dinner table spread didn’t have was bread, believe it or not. With 2 health-nuts and a diabetic between me and my parents, that’s fine by us, except my brother was also going to be at the table and then it became a concern. This would be just the type of thing I’d love to make: a fun, savory, dough-y appetizer/side.

So what did you do?
First was the butternut squash puree. I bought about 1 1/3 lbs of cubed butternut squash, and cooked it in a skillet with 1-2 tbsp olive oil, about 2/3 tsp salt, 2 tsp chopped fresh sage leaves, and a sprinkling of brown sugar. I covered it and let it simmer on low heat for about 20 minutes, until the squash became soft. Then I could grab a metal slotted ladle and mash them into a… mash. I’m deliberately wasn’t super thorough because I like those rustic, erratic chunks of mix-ins in my final baked product.
I let that sit in the fridge until chilled. (Always make sure everything is cold when you’re working with a dough for easy handling.)

Then I started working with the rest of the ingredients by mixing them in a large bowl:

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp fresh sage leaves, finely chopped
  • 5 tbsp cold butter, chopped

I mixed this into a dough, knowing that it would be way drier, since more moisture would come from the butternut squash mash.

I then added 1/2 cup goat cheese crumbles and 1 1/2 cup of the butternut squash mash to the mix and kept kneading by hand. I added a splash or two of low-fat milk since the dough was still a bit too dry.

Rolled into little balls and baked at 400 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

Butternut Squash & Goat Cheese Biscuits (1)Result?
A very homey, lightly cheesy, texture and taste, which is so fitting for the holidays. The ratio of butternut squash and flour I think resulted in a good, chewy density. The goat cheese blended in nicely giving the biscuit and overall cheesy taste, as opposed to providing sharp accents that would come from a sharper, harder cheese, like feta, for example.

Lessons learned?
More herbs! I wish the sage had come out more since it is such an aromatic herb. Maybe a few more sprinkling of brown sugar would have developed a more complex, sweet & salty taste.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

