Skip to content

Crepes: Smoked Salmon & Tzatziki

January 3, 2014

Crepe - Smoked Salmon & Tzatziki (2)JANUARY 3rd — This morning’s breakfast of champions. Another exploration on the crepe’s multidimensional canvas. Needs no further introduction.

So what did you do?
I first made the tzatziki, a Greek cucumber-yogurt dip.
Quarter a cucumber into spears and slice them. Place the pieces into a colander over a sink. Liberally salt the cucumber to season it and to draw out the water. The thinner the slices the better; it’s less volume for the salt to process. It might take 10 minutes or so. Then mix it in with 2 cups of plain Greek yogurt, 1/4 cup lemon juice, 1 clove garlic, minced, dill, and salt and pepper, to taste.
Let the tzatziki sit in the refrigerator for some time. This can be made the night prior, and I would recommend it because the cucumber flavor will have had more time to pervade into the yogurt.

Then I made the crepe batter, which is something I always eyeball, very, roughly, and always end up making extra of.
I tend to pour in ~1.5 cups of flour, and then ~1/3 cup granulated sugar, and a dash of salt. Then I gradually add milk until the crepe batter is just a bit runnier than American pancake batter would be. Crepe batter is typically just about as runny as liquid, but I like to make my crepes a bit thicker. Then I’ll add in one beaten egg.

I made all the crepes, and then assembled them by laying thin slices of smoked salmon across the entire crepe. I then sprinkled some more dill, rolled the crepe up like a roulade, and spooned the tzatziki on top of it.

Crepe - Smoked Salmon & Tzatziki (1)Flavor and texture combination—great. I love mixing sweet & savory especially in crepes. The smoked salmon and the crepes have similar textures with very contrasting tastes, which I thought was fun, and the freshly made tzatziki provided both the refreshing and the crunchy part of the dish.

Slice the rolled-up crepes into bite-size pieces and they would make great hors d’oeuvres. To avoid the messiness of tzatziki running amok, you could try spooning a little bit of tzatziki into the crepe. I would imagine, however, that you would want a slightly thicker crepe (like the ones I make) to be able to hold the condiment inside.

Lessons learned?
It’s probably worth the effort to make tzatziki the night before. I never seem to learn that one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

