Skip to content

Cinnamon-Apple Bourbon Milkshake

February 24, 2014

Cinnamon-Apple Bourbon Milkshake (3)FEBRUARY 19th — In celebration of one of my apartment-mate’s birthday, I was tempted to make some more gourmet jell-o shots, but thought I’d try something different this time. After a recent weekend in Las Vegas, I was inspired to make a boozy milkshake. Lisa likes loves whiskey, so I needed to find a flavor profile that would work well with whiskey…

So what did you do?
When I had settled on an apples & cinnamon milkshake, I did some research into milkshakes that incorporated apples. Many recipes just called for chopped raw apples, but I decided that the flavors and the sugars in the apples would come out more if I cooked them, so I diced one large gala apple and sauteed them with a little bit of butter and water, and about 1/2 tsp of ground cinnamon. I let that sit in the refrigerator to chill.

I put the following in the blender:

  • 2 1/4 cups light vanilla ice cream
  • cinnamon-apple mixture (once fully chilled)
  • drizzle of honey
  • heaping tablespoon of orange marmalade
  • an additional 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 2 shots bourbon (I used Evan Williams)

Blend until smooth and serve right away. Garnish with whipped cream and a dusting of more cinnamon, if desired. Serves 2-3.

Cinnamon-Apple Bourbon Milkshake (2)Lessons learned?
Recipes for alcoholic milkshakes advised ONE shot only, since the milkshake isn’t supposed to be a cocktail. The liquor is just another mix-in or flavoring, and should be used judiciously. I, holding onto the last bits of a status as a rash college student, openly defied this restriction and put in two shots. Well, Lisa likes bourbon, but I thought it was really strong and overpowered the overall flavor of the milkshake. Still a lovely adult treat though. I will sheepishly only add one shot next time, however.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

