Skip to content

Chai Spice Cake with Avocado-Chocolate Frosting

April 26, 2014

Chai Cake w Avocado-Choc Frosting (3)MARCH 26th, 2014 — It started with my friend handing me two ripe avocados during a screening. Apparently her neighbor had a copious abundance of homegrown avocado. I thought I might as well try out using avocado as a butter substitute in dessert!

So what did you do?
I scooped out the flesh of 1 of the avocados and mashed it with a spatula.
I then added 1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and 1/4 granulated sugar,* and some dashes of cinnamon.
I mixed those and voila–the frosting! It’s incredible how it tastes and feels just like regular chocolate frosting.

*Ideally, powdered sugar is the best thing for something like frosting, because it’s so fine and will dissolve easily. I didn’t have any, but was pleasantly surprised that the granulated sugar didn’t feel grainy and/or sandy in my mouth.

For the cake, I whisked the following dry ingredients together:

  • 1 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup vanilla chai latte mix*
  • cinnamon and nutmeg, to taste

I got the chai latte mix from a stand at a farmers’ market. (All you do is add hot water!) Instead of a mix though, I would use 1 cup sugar, 1 tbsp vanilla extract, and the contents of 2-3 chai spice tea bags.

Then folded in the following wet ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 2 tbsp apple cider vinegar

I poured the batter into a loaf pan and baked at 350 degrees for about 25-30 minutes.

Chai Cake w Avocado-Choc Frosting (2)I did have to wait a bit before I could frost it.

With whole-wheat flour, and no butter or eggs, the cake definitely tasted like a “healthy” cake, but for what it lacked in indulgent, soft texture, it made up in a bold, aromatic flavor. And then I used a bunch of that intense avocado-chocolate frosting to top it off. And some more dashes of cinnamon and a drizzle of honey.

Lessons learned?
Inspiration for using avocado in more desserts! Ice cream—you’re next.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

