Skip to content

Hasselback Taro

April 26, 2014
tags: ,

IMG_0480APRIL 26th, 2014 — A new stand had arrived at the farmers’ market selling all these different types of yams and sweet potatoes, and so I went immediately for the taro. Right away I was pretty convinced that this is what I wanted to do with them, since I’ve always wanted to try it.

So what did you do?
I washed the little taro yams and cut slits in them just before I hit the bottom. I decided to try cross-cutting one, like you would for a mango, just to increase the surface area of taro that would be exposed.

I then opened up the slits delicately and sprinkled in some salt and dark brown sugar. I then sprayed them with some non-cooking spray, and baked them in the oven at 425 degrees for about 45 minutes. About 20 minutes in, I pried in there with a fork and tried to fanning out the taters.

Really quite simply a fun way to eat taro.

IMG_0482Lessons learned?
If I could have done anything differently, it would be to have been more daring by cutting thinner slices, rubbing in some more salt and sugar, and spraying the insides more thoroughly. I was afraid that my clammy hands would break the delicate potato, resulting in me moping at my clumsiness. Thinner slices and a shorter bake time would have made for a crunchier, more textural experience.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

