Skip to content

Green Curry Chicken Salad Toasts

January 31, 2015

JANUARY 30th, 2015 — Little late for the New Year, I know, but it had been a while since I had come up with anything original and composed of somewhat homemade ingredients. Clearly it takes a party to push me to those limits when I feel compelled to boast and puff up my chest à la an hors d’œuvres platter.

Also, this curried chicken salad trend? I’m a huge curry fan, so I ain’t complaining, but it’s really quite flooded deli counters and cafes, so I thought I’d take a spin on it with one of my favorite curries–thai green curry.

Transcription:
Slice half a cucumber.
Mix 1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup rice vinegar, 1 tbsp sugar, and 1 tsp salt.
Bring mixture to a boil.
Pour over cucumber coins.
Refrigerate and allow time for light pickling.
Dice 2 chicken breasts into bite-sized pieces.
Sautée chicken. Add salt, pepper, and cumin. Squeeze a little lime juice.
Fold in thai green curry sauce.
Set aside and let chill.
Cut a loaf of crusty bread (I used a flaxseed ciabatta) into toast-sized pieces. Toast. Then cut into small bite-sized pieces.
Fold in 1/2 cup Greek yogurt into the chicken mixture.
Assemble your toasts!
I start with a pickle slice, some of the curry chicken salad, then a spoonful of mango-ginger chutney.
Top with ground black pepper.

For the bonus recipe, I started with some swiss cheese, than an apple-mint relish, and topped with some grainy dijon mustard.

Lessons learned?
For hors d’œuvres purposes, perhaps a flatter, thinner, pre-sliced bread would be easier to manage. I imagine it would also probably give the toppings more room to shine.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

