Skip to content

Couscous Pilaf with Roasted Vegetables & Mint

November 7, 2015

NOVEMBER 6th, 2015 — Only other occasion that seems to force me to make a homemade dish: potlucks. This is something I’ve had success with before.

couscous pilaf 2.2So what did you do?
First I roasted the veggies: 3 small-medium zucchini, diced (into little cubes like you’d find in fried rice), a 15 oz. can garbanzo beans, and also about 15 oz. peas, defrosted. Be sure to drain and rinse the garbanzo beans. And on a tray sprayed with non-stick spray, spread out your veggies in a single layer. Generously top with salt and garlic salt, as well as ~1 tsp cumin, and some ground black pepper. I roasted them at 380 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

I prepared 2 1/2 cups couscous, as per package directions, which needs 2 1/2 cups boiling water salted with 1 tsp salt. I would recommend adding 1-2 tsp unsalted butter, but I had run out that evening and used an equivalent amount of olive oil instead, which is good, but just provides a different flavor. I also added 2 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp coriander, 6 cloves garlic, minced, and a sprinkling of fennel seeds.

When the couscous was ready, I folded in the roasted veggies. Meanwhile, I finely chopped 1 bunch of fresh mint, and added them at the end. You need to do this at the end; any earlier and most of the refreshing aromatic flavor of the mint will be cooked out of it. I then folded the mint in, added more spices and ground black pepper to taste.

couscous pilaf 2Awesome.
Serves 6 – a gaggle of people.

Lessons learned?
Mince your garlic first, because it should go in everything. I was in a rush so I didn’t roast the garlic with the veggies. Dammit.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

