Skip to content

Cuban-Style Pork Chops

February 23, 2016

Cuban_PlateFEBRUARY 21st, 2016 — Accommodating the yucca in my Cuban meal were these pork chops. I don’t have a direct food memory with regards to pork chops from my week in Cuba. But there was plenty of pork to be had on that island, in all sorts of cuts and forms. Even the ham was textured and hearty.

So what did you do?
First, I had to plan ahead and marinate the pork chops, which included both a dry rub and wet marinade.

For the dry rub, I first finely chopped 7 cloves of garlic, and tossed it in 1.5 tsp dried oregano, 1/2 tsp cumin, and 1.5 tsp salt.

For the wet marinade, I whisked together 1/3 cup orange juice, 1/3 cup rice vinegar, and 1/3 cup olive oil.

I then rubbed both sides of each chop with the dry rub, laid them in baking dishes, and poured the marinade over them. I then topped the chops with slices of 1 onion. Finally I let them marinate in the fridge for at least 4 hours.

When you’re ready to fry, heat some olive oil in a skillet. Pour the marinade and onion slices into the pan. Follow up with the pork chops, as many as will fit in the pan, with some wiggle room. I then added in some sliced tomatoes. Per a friend’s advice, 3 minutes on the first side, 2 minutes on the second, and then a minute on each side as needed. While that’s all happening, feel free to de-glaze the pan with splashes of red wine.

Cuban_PorkChopDone. Marinating is truly underrated, especially with citrus, which gives the meat such a bright lift. Wine is also a nice touch that complements the chops.

Lessons learned?
I looked it up: if you don’t get around to frying all your chops, you can keep marinating the chop in the fridge for up to 5 days.

Leave a Reply

