Skip to content

Farro Salad with Spring Greens

May 1, 2016

IMG_9348APRIL 30th, 2016 — Salads are usually the one thing I don’t order out because I know I can make a similarly tasty salad for cheap. I’m still a sucker and pay for really well-balanced grain salads, especially ones with farro, (Tender Greens and Milo & Olive have some great ones), so it was about time to take a crack at it.

So what did you do?
I first prepared the farro, according to package directions. I got 2 bags of the one Trader Joe’s sells, which is about 6 servings total. I set that aside to cool.

I then chopped 2 bunches of asparagus and blanched them quickly (aka less than 3 minutes) in boiling water, and then set aside to cool.

I toasted the pecans in the oven at 300 degrees for <10 minutes. They don’t need oil or nuthin’. You could drizzle honey on top for extra sugar and crunch, I suppose.

Running the cooked items (like the farro asparagus) under the cold tap is helpful to cool them down quickly and halt the cooking process.

While the ingredients were cooling, I whisked together the dressing, which is (roughly):

  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 1-2 tbsp dijon mustard
  • ~1 tsp honey
  • salt and pepper, to taste

IMG_9349Then, in a large bowl, I tossed together the farro, asparagus, pecans, along with dried cranberries and arugula, and my dressing.

Mmm. You know what might be good with this? Goat cheese crumbles or shaved parmesan.

Lessons learned?
Could experiment more next time, but a yummy start to farro.
I once tried making shrimp & pineapple fried rice with farro in place of rice, and it sucked, so I’ll have to try that again if I really feel like it.

Leave a Reply

