Skip to content

Honey-Lime Glazed Chicken

May 1, 2016

APRIL 30th, 2016 — It’s as close as I get to making sweet & sour chicken. Also I still have a ton of honey from my New Year’s trip Cuba. It goes well with the farro salad and butternut squash fritters, no?

IMG_9350So what did you do?
Prepare the glaze. Whisk together:

  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1/4 cup sriracha
  • juice of 1 large lime
  • lime zest

Rub salt and pepper on your chicken. For this party I used breasts and thighs, though I think drumsticks would also be strong candidates. The breast pieces I got were pretty thick, so I banged on them with my fists (though a rolling pin or mallet would probably be more effective) to tenderize and thin them out.

In a hot, oiled skillet, lay down your chicken pieces. If the pieces have skin on, put the skin side down first. You cook the first side longer, so make sure it’s the skin side because you want that to crisp up. Cook on medium heat for 15 minutes or so.

Flip over, lower the heat, and pour over the glaze.

Garnish with pea shoot and/or micro-greens. Squeeze over limes for extra pizazz. Mmm. Sweet, tangy, and a little spicy.

Lessons learned?
Could have used more salt, but that’s just me.
I wonder if roasting would have been the easier option in terms of clean-up. Though I’m not sure you can get the same, crispy, searing effect on the skins of the chicken.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

