Skip to content

Mochi with Red Bean Filling

June 20, 2016

Mochi (1)JUNE 19th, 2016 — One of the things I know my grandma was bomb at making was mochi. I unfortunately don’t recall making the actual rice cake batter with her, but I’ve made it before with my friend Emily for Japanese class, and yes, you can do it in a microwave with good results.

So what did you do?
In a large bowl, I mixed:

  • 1 1/2 cup glutinous rice flour (I used Koda Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 room temperature water

Poured that into a microwave-safe dish and microwaved on HIGH for 2 1/2 minutes. Checked and stirred around to see that it was doing okay and refraining from exploding, and microwaved it for another 3 minutes.

While you’re waiting for the microwave, I opened a can of red bean paste (I prefer chunky to smooth paste), and formed 1/4 tsp balls, rolling them in my hand. This is actually a super helpful tip when it comes to prep work because it makes assembly super fast and not messy.

Dust your work space (in my case, a large dinner plate) with flour. (I kept things consistent and used glutinous rice flour). To be extra cool, I sprinkled black sesame seeds onto my flour work space. I then spooned out approximately 2-3 tablespoons worth of the sticky rice cake batter onto the floured surface. It is ridiculously sticky and hot at this point, by the way, so give it time to cool after you spoon the portions out onto your surface. Then, with floured hands, I flattened the mochi and placed the rolled balls of red bean paste into the center. Then I bunched up the sides and rolled the mochi in my hands and dusted off the extra flour.

Mochi (4)Such a childhood treat. You should eat these within a day or two because, unless you added some preservative in here along the way, mochi tends to harden super quickly.

Lessons learned?
Some recipes out there say you should dust your work surface with cornstarch or potato starch. You don’t need to go out and buy that if you don’t have it in your kitchen. Just use the glutinous rice flour. Duh. It’s all tasteless anyway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

