Skip to content

Taiwanese Minced Pork Over Rice

June 20, 2016

Taiwanese_Pork over Rice (1)JUNE 19th, 2016 — Wanted to honor my 1 Taiwanese grandma who passed in the past month, and I think of 2 things when I think of Taiwanese entrées: niu rou mian, beef noodle soup, which I ain’t got time for, and lu rou fan, which I know my brother is a huge fan of.

So what did you do?
I perused a few blogs to figure this one out. (I also adore the lady from TaiwanCooking.)
I’m lazy, preferring quicker recipes, and I also don’t like to buy a ton of ingredients like chicken/beef stock, that don’t keep for long and won’t be used immediately later that week. So here’s what I decided on doing:

In a large bowl I mixed (with my hands):

  • 2 1/2 lbs. ground pork
  • 3 tsp Chinese five-spice powder
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced,
  • 1/2 tsp salt — not adding a ton here because I added a lot of soy sauce later…
  • dashes of cinnamon, to taste (I didn’t see that one coming either–that makes both of us)

Then, in a pot, I added the pork. To be safe, I used some oil spray so that it for sure wouldn’t stick to the pot, but you don’t need to coat the pot with oil since your pork already has fat in it that will render out. While it’s cooking in here, add:

  • 8 tbsp soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp rice vinegar (rice wine is also a common substitute)
  • 3 tbsp sesame oil

Just as the pork is about cooked through, I added about 2 1/2 cups of diced shiitake mushrooms and tofu gan (aka “dried firm beancurd” or “baked savory tofu”) to the mixture.
I then added more five-spice powder, cinnamon, garlic salt, and ground black pepper, to taste.

Stir vigorously until everything is all cooked through. If you do this right, you’ll have a lovely spiced soy sauce that drips out onto the bed of steamed rice that you’ll spoon this pork mixture on.

Taiwanese_Pork over Rice (2)To accompany the dish, I used traditional ingredients of salted mustard greens and pickled daikon, which I found at my local Ranch 99. Sprinkled some black sesame seeds on top for purely cosmetic purposes.

Lessons learned?
Maybe a fattier cut, like pork shoulder would work better? I found my pork a bit drier than I’d find in restaurants, but maybe I just didn’t add an excess of oil and soy sauce.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

