Skip to content

Pumpkin Pie Mochi

November 22, 2016

NOVEMBER 22nd, 2016 — Also known as “Pumpkin Spice Mochi,” for the basic people in your life. No, there was a Thanksgiving potluck at the office today. Decided I would take the Orientalist route to reinvent a classic pie!

mochi-pumpkin-pie-3So what did you do?
In a large bowl, I mixed:

  • 1 1/2 cup glutinous rice flour (I used Koda Mochiko Sweet Rice Flour)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 room temperature water
  • generous dashes of ground cinnamon and ground nutmeg

Poured that into a microwave-safe dish and microwaved on HIGH for 2 1/2 minutes. Checked and stirred around to see that it was doing okay and refraining from exploding, and microwaved it for another 3 minutes.

While batter was microwaving, I dusted my work space (in my case, a large dinner plate) and my hands with lots of the rice flour. I scooped pre-made pumpkin pie filling (because I didn’t have another few hours to bake and cool a pie) into my hands and formed them into little balls.

After the batter had finished, I used a rubber spatula to spoon out scoops (approximately 2-3 tablespoons worth) of the sticky rice cake batter onto the floured surface. It is quite sticky and hot at this point, by the way, so give it time to cool after you spoon the portions out onto your surface. Then, with floured hands, I flattened the mochi and placed the rolled balls of pumpkin pie filling into the centers. Then I bunched up the sides and rolled the mochi in my hands and dusted off the extra flour.

mochi-pumpkin-pie-4To garnish, dust off with extra ground cinnamon, nutmeg, and walnuts.

mochi-pumpkin-pie-1Delightfully spiced. The pumpkin fie filling actually gives quite a lighter, fluffier quality to the bite, compared to much denser sweet bean pastes.

Lessons learned?
Pumpkin pie filling is moister than I thought (much moister than red bean paste). Made for some slightly more difficult and time-consuming handling.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

