Skip to content

Turmeric Rice with Cumin-Roasted Chicken and Vegetables

February 26, 2017

FEBRUARY 26th, 2017 — Two cooking goals as of late: a) jazz up rice, and b) incorporate turmeric I recently purchased on my last Asia trip.

So what did you do?

For the turmeric rice, I started sautéeing 2 minced cloves of garlic in about 1 tbsp olive oil. (You can use butter if you prefer the taste.) I added 1 tsp ground turmeric, 1/4 tsp ground cumin, and 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon.
Then I added 1 cup uncooked rice. I had white jasmine rice. In an ideal world I would have had brown basmati. I let the rice toast in the oil for about 2 minutes. I then added 1.5 cups boiling water to the pot, and then brought it down to a simmer. I let it cook for about 25-30 minutes.

turmeric-riceThen, I prepared the vegetables. I had a bunch of heirloom carrots and 1/2 red onion, which I peeled and chopped. I tossed them in olive oil, salt, cumin, and nutmeg, to taste. I drizzled some honey and roasted them at 375 degrees Fahrenheit for about 25 minutes. I like my carrots somewhat crunchy, so I didn’t roast for much longer. (I also had onions in there, which cook very quickly.)

turmeric-rice-chicken-3For the chicken, I sliced 2 breasts into strips. I rubbed the chicken with ~1/3 tsp salt, ~1/2 tsp cumin, and ~1/2 tsp cinnamon. In an oiled skillet, I pan-fried the chicken pieces. I also splashed them with soy sauce, for moisture.

Serve together! What is this–Indian, Middle Eastern? *shrug* Hearty and tasty, however, without the rich heaviness of a curry sauce. For tomorrow’s leftovers, I may make a garlic-yogurt dip to serve on top.

turmeric-rice-chicken-2Lessons learned?
In the juggle of all these ingredients, I forgot that I had every intention of adding dried cranberries and crumbled feta cheese to the rice. Damn. Will add tomorrow.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

