Skip to content

Cornmeal Crepes & Chili with Apple Slaw

June 18, 2017

JUNE 17th, 2017 β€” I’ve had this idea for years actually.

So what did you do?
First I prepared the chili. I soaked 15 oz. dried beans (assorted) overnight in 8 cups of water. (Or you can do it for a minimum of 4 hours).
Then, I drained the beans, brought another 8 cups of water to boil in a pot, added the beans, and then brought it down to a simmer for 1 hour.
While that’s simmering, I browned 1 lb ground turkey with 1/2 of a large onion, diced in another skillet. I added some salt and some chili spice mix (probably about 1/4 cup worth), which included a dried ancho chile. I added some of the spice mix directly into the turkey and onion as they were cooking.
When the beans had finished cooking the second time, I drained them again and returned them back to the stove. I added the turkey and onion mixture, along with a 14 oz. can of diced tomatoes, 1 cup red wine, and 2 cups beef broth. I brought the chili mix to a boil, and then simmered for 1 hour.

While the chili was cooking, I prepared the slaw, which was:

  • 3 cups of a slaw mix (mine had napa cabbage, red cabbage, kale, and brussels sprouts)
  • 2 large gala apples, julienned
  • 1/2 cup golden raisins and dried blueberries

They were dressed with 4 tbsp olive oil, 2 tbsp maple syrup (I was out of honey), 3 tbsp apple cider vinegar, 2 tbsp rice vinegar, and salt & pepper.

For the crepes, I mixed the following in a large mixing bowl:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • 1 cup milk
  • 2 tbsp olive oil (or you can use melted butter)

The batter should be thinner than traditional pancake batter, so I added a few more splashes of milk as needed.
In an oiled skillet on very high heat, I dropped in ~2/3 cup of batter at a time, and squeegee-d it around with a spatula. Probably not even a minute on each side is all it needs. I got 8 ~9-in. crepes out of this batter.

The crumbly cornmeal made for a not very pliable crepe, so I emulated a tostada when it came to plating, starting first with the crepe, then a ladle-ful of the turkey chili, and then the slaw to top it off.

Lessons learned?
I don’t work with cornmeal much at all, but I learned that you need really high heat in the pan in order to get a cornmeal batter to crisp up quickly, or else it shall stick to a skillet. (Thank you, Candice.)

In retrospect, maybe 1/2 cup Greek yoghurt would have made a nice creamy touch to the slaw…

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 18, 2017 3:46 PM

    Perfect Saturday brunch cuisine. Tasted amazing AND felt very different than standard brunch fare.

Leave a Reply

