Skip to content

Watermelon & Tomato Salad with Halloumi

September 13, 2021

SEPTEMBER 13th, 2021 The end of summer in a salad. Tried to make this textur-ally diverse.

So what did you do?
First, prepare 1/2 cup green lentils, according to package directions. I simmered mine with 1 1/2 cup water and threw in dashes of cumin and cinnamon. After simmering for 15 minutes, drain and set aside to cool.

Then, in a frying pan lightly oiled with olive oil, sautée the lentils, stirring occasionally so they get nice and crispy. Set aside to cool.

Cube 1/2 small watermelon.

Dice 1 1/2 cup tomatoes. I had a variety of big grape tomatoes and heirloom tomatoes, the color of which I think pairs nicely with the water melon. Pro-tip: Generously sprinkle salt on the tomatoes to soak up the moisture.

Finely shred about 1 cup lettuce of your choice. I had romaine.

Meanwhile, pan-fry slices of halloumi cheese. You could also try paneer or feta.

Toss the watermelon, tomatoes, lettuce, lentils, and halloumi in some lemon juice and olive oil. Season with extra salt and pepper.

Top with some sliced avocado. I added a drizzle of cilantro chutney I had on hand. You might also try pesto or some fresh basil or mint.

Lessons learned?
Many of these things are lovely pairings. A bite of tomato and avocado here, a bite of watermelon and halloumi there, a bit of melon and tomato there…

I still should have salted and seeded the tomatoes more, as my salad felt a little wet.

No comments yet

Leave a comment